ATOPOLIS (Press Conference)

ATOPOLIS (Press Conference)
WIELS @ Mons 2015
Curated by Dirk Snauwaert and Charlotte Friling
Serra dei Giardini, Viale Giuseppe Garibaldi, 1254-30122 Venezia - Castello
Vaporetto: Giardini
8 May 2015 - 9:30 pm

This exhibition of contemporary art, in co-operation with Mons 2015, presents work by a group of artists who are interested in the phenomena of exchange, transfer between cultures and artistic practices. The title reflects the ideas of Edouard Glissant, a great thinker of hybridity and globalisation, who has already been campaigning for the 'Relation' for years, a mutual connection and equality between people, between the community and nature, between the imaginary, the symbolic and the real.

Mons, the historic epicentre of the first industrialisation on the mainland - a synonym for  rampant modernisation - became the crossroads of major migrations searching a "full life" and a symbol of the cultural and social diversity as a result of those migrations. Multiple identities and other topical issues that are omnipresent due to globalisation found  predecessors and peers, as witnessed by the many models of social and community utopia.
The exhibition explores the notions of ‘otherness and difference’ in the light of globalisation, based on the specificity of the place and its history: the Borinage, the Manege de Sury and a former convent school, places that reflect a "micro city" or an ideal community. The restored and revalued building complex will become a creative 'hub' for innovative companies as from 2016, a model of an island in the city focused on creative industries whose technological future will be characterised by the free flow of information.

Twenty-three artists install their visions in an atopolis, a temporary ideal city, everywhere and nowhere.

With:
Saâdane Afif, Nevin Aladag, Francis Alÿs, El Anatsui, Danai Anesiadou, Yto Barrada, Walead Beshty, Huma Bhabha, Vincen Beeckman, Vlassis Caniaris, Abraham Cruzvillegas, Meschac Gaba, Jef Geys, Thomas Hirschhorn, Kapwani Kiwanga, David Medalla, Vincent Meessen, Adrian Melis, Benoit Platéus, Walter Swennen, Diego Tonus, Lawrence Weiner  and Jack Whitten.

A co-production with Foundation Mons 2015, the Pôle muséal de la Ville de Mons and WIELS.
Curator: Dirk Snauwaert
Co-curator: Charlotte Friling

Address
Manège de Sury
Rue des Droits de l’Homme 4
7000 Mons
More info on http://www.mons2015.eu

ATOPOLIS (Press Conference)

ATOPOLIS (Conférence de presse)
WIELS@Mons2015
Curateurs : Dirk Snauwaert et Charlotte Friling
Serra dei Giardini, Viale Giuseppe Garibaldi, 1254 – 30122 Venezia – Castello
Vaporetto : Giardini
8 mai 2015 – 21h30

Cette exposition d’art contemporain, organisée en coopération avec Mons2015, présente des œuvres d’un ensemble d’artistes qui s’intéressent aux phénomènes d’échange et de transfert entre les cultures et les pratiques artistiques. Le titre reflète les idées d’Edouard Glissant, grand penseur de l’hybridité et de la globalisation, qui plaide depuis des années pour la ‘Relation’, le métissage et l’égalité entre les hommes, entre la société humaine et la nature, entre l’imaginaire, le symbolique et le réel.

Mons, épicentre historique de la première industrialisation sur le continent – synonyme de modernisation débridée -, est devenue le carrefour d’importantes migrations en quête d’une vie digne de ce nom et un symbole du métissage culturel et social né de ces migrations. Les identités plurielles et les autres questions d’actualité que la globalisation rend omniprésentes, ont trouvé là des précurseurs et des compagnons de fortune, dont témoignent les nombreux modèles d’utopies sociales et sociétales qui sont nés là.

L’exposition explore les notions d’altérité et de différence à la lumière de cette globalisation, et rend compte de la spécificité de l’endroit et de son histoire: le Borinage, le Manège de Sury et une ancienne école monastique, des lieux qui reflètent une micro-cité ou une société idéale. Le complexe de bâtiments restauré et revalorisé deviendra à partir de 2016 une plaque tournante créative pour les entreprises innovantes, un modèle d’île dans une cité, tournée vers des entreprises créatives dont l’avenir technologique sera caractérisé par le libre flux de l’information.

Vingt-trois artistes font connaitre leurs visions d’une atopolis, une cité idéale temporaire, se situant partout et nulle part.

Avec :
Saâdane Afif, Nevin Aladag, Francis Alÿs, El Anatsui, Danai Anesiadou, Yto Barrada, Walead Beshty, Huma Bhabha, Vincen Beeckman, Vlassis Caniaris, Abraham Cruzvillegas, Meschac Gaba, Jef Geys, Thomas Hirschhorn, Kapwani Kiwanga, David Medalla, Vincent Meessen, Adrian Melis, Benoit Platéus, Walter Swennen, Diego Tonus, Lawrence Weiner et Jack Whitten.

Une coproduction avec Foundation Mons 2015, le Pôle muséal de la Ville de Mons et WIELS.
Curateur: Dirk Snauwaert
Co-curatrice: Charlotte Friling

Adresse
Manège de Sury
Rue des Droits de l’Homme 4
7000 Mons
Plus d’ infos http://www.mons2015.eu