The Revenge of the Common Place

A Triple History of Appropriation and Illusion on behalf of the Brillo Box, and some other Stories on Copies and Originals

FRANCIS ALŸS, SONG DONG and RINUS VAN DE VELDE

Curated by Hans Maria De Wolf
Palazzo Nani Mocenigo, Dorsoduro 960, 30123 Venezia
Vaporetto: Zattere or Academia
9 May – 31 July 2015

Artists Francis Alÿs, Song Dong and Rinus van der Velde have been selected by curator Hans De Wolf to represent the Ministry of the Flemish community.

De Wolf has developed a controversial and humorous exhibition, constructed around some of the most fundamental misunderstandings between Western tradition and the Far East. Traditionally, in the West, the idea of authorship has always been highly protected and linked with the notion of genius. Today, many artists operating in the avant-garde have transcended those ideas, a trend that started perhaps with Duchamp. What is not yet clear is the question of whether we have already come to terms with all possible consequences of this new situation, a question which became all the more obvious since a new kid appeared on the block: the Chinese artist.

Taking Andy Warhol’s famous Brillo Boxes as a starting point, this exhibition will lead the spectator into a new climate, in which the status of the art work as an object becomes unsecure and suggesting that we might have reached a ‘post-object-era’. This current situation will be tackled head on by a new piece by painter Rinus Van de Velde, while the exhibition as a whole will be considerably enriched by a new installation by Song Dong and a video by Francis Alÿs.

Editors’ Notes
Questioning the Original
Ever since their first appearance in New York in 1964, Andy Warhol’s Brillo Boxes became emblems of a new kind of world, in which high art and popular culture were no longer separated. Pop art became the dominant visual language of that period, and, although the whole movement was rooted in social critique and scepticism towards modern consumerism, no artists involved would prevent their works from becoming the beloved objects of an art world now marked by an ‘unbearable lightness of being’ in comparison to previous periods.

Arthur Danto proclaimed this sensational moment as the end of the domination of cultural elites, a moment that marked the rebirth of philosophy out of the ‘common place’ for which the Brillo Box was the ultimate expression. Whilst these ideas were being incorporated into the American educational systems and beyond, at the same time the believers of Danto’s vision turned a blind eye to the activities of a number of people (in China, for instance) that were operating in the shadows of this beautiful new art world.

When the world finally found out about the stories of fakes and business, and curator De Wolf wanted to introduce them within an exhibition that he was preparing in Beijing, he quickly realised that the Chinese today simply love the idea of the copy. This summer De Wolf will present a number of objects that are not art works, nor copies, nor replicas, nor interpretations, and not even an edition. The objects to be presented in this exhibition allow the painter Rinus van der Velde to come to terms with the whole story and to make a painting, just a painting. Not a fake.

Since the whole idea was born in China, a universe that has to come to terms itself, with its recent history (in art) and its own unique appreciation of the copy as the ultimate compliment that one can make in regard to an original, Song Dong was invited to mirror these ideas within a new installation. Francis Alÿs will complete the exhibition. Based in Mexico City, Alÿs has already questioned the legacy of the ‘original’ as a format for many years. His contribution will complete the exhibition with the notion of violence: probably the most ancient expression of the copy as a format of narcissism.

Mr. Hans De Wolf, 1961 - Lives and works in Brussels, Belgium
Hans De Wolf is an art historian who focuses mainly on modern and contemporary art, philosophy and aesthetics. In 2009 De Wolf was commissioned by the Brussels Regional Government to create a first exhibition project for Shanghai 2010. Several other projects would follow, all bringing some of Belgium’s outstanding artists to cities such as Beijing, Hangzhou, Seoul, Gwangju, Chengdu and Beijing. Over the years a unique methodology was developed that can be understood as the intertwining of cultural and academic diplomacy, whereby exhibition projects become the driving force for an intensive interchange including local universities and art schools. Most recently, in October 2014, De Wolf curated the exhibition ‘Master Mould and Copy Room’ at the museum of the Central Academy of Fine Arts (CAFA) in Beijing.

Mr. Francis Alÿs, 1959 - Lives and works in Mexico City, Mexico
Francis Alÿs’ works consist of performances, videos, drawings, paintings and sculptures, which he creates and develops in different cities, such as New York, London, Lima and Jerusalem. Alÿs describes the context of his artistic activities as being ‘political’, but in the Greek meaning of the word polis: the city as a place of awareness and conflict. With simple, ironic and outspoken actions, he studies the influence of art on life in the city.

Mr. Song Dong, 1966 - Lives and works in Beijing, China
Song Dong has stood up on top of the avant-garde action art movement in China and became an important conceptual artist in the contemporary art development of China. The artistic forms of Song’s works cross such areas as actions, images and sculpture, etc. His works are often found between the modern and the traditional and between art and life. They often explore the transience of human behaviors and the relationship between human memory on one side and history, sentiment, self-awareness and the external world on the other side.

Mr. Rinus Van de Velde, 1983 - Lives and works in Antwerp, Belgium
At the base of the recent work of the Antwerp-based artist, Rinus Van de Velde lies an obsessive documentary process, in which the artist works with an archive of photographic images which are then used as basic elements for a series of charcoal drawings. These drawings do not contain a certain essence, nor the structure of the image, but they are produced because of the effect of the drawing itself. Van de Velde occupies the material in order to tell a new story.
 

For more information contact
Rhiannon Pickles, Pickles PR


Organising body:
Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Free University Brussels-VUB)
Pleinlaan 2, 1050 Brussels, Belgium
http://www.vub.ac.be/

In association with:                                         
Museum of Contemporary Art Antwerp (M HKA)
Leuvenstraat 32,
2000 Antwerp, Belgium
http://www.muhka.be/

Commissioned by:
Ministerie van de Vlaamse Gemeenschap Kunsten en Erfgoed
Arenbergstraat 9, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
http://www.kunstenenerfgoed.be

The Revenge of the Common Place

Une triple histoire d'appropriation et d'illusion au nom de la boîte Brillo et certaines autres histoires concernant des copies et des originaux

FRANCIS ALŸS, SONG DONG et RINUS VAN DE VELDE

Organisé par Hans Maria De Wolf
Palazzo Nani Mocenigo – Dordoduro 960, 30123 Venezia
9 mai – 31 juillet 2015

Les artistes Francis Alÿs, Song Dong et Rinus van der Velde ont été sélectionnés par l'organisateur Hans De Wolf pour représenter le Ministère de la Communauté flamande.

De Wolf a mis au point une exposition controversée et humoristique, structurée autour de certains des malentendus les plus fondamentaux entre la tradition occidentale et l'Extrême Orient. Traditionnellement, en Occident, l'idée du droit d'auteur a toujours été extrêmement protégée et liée à la notion de génie. Aujourd'hui, beaucoup d'artistes avant-gardistes ont transcendé ces idées, une tendance qui a peut-être commencé avec Duchamp. Ce qui n'est pas encore clair, c'est la question de savoir si nous avons déjà accepté toutes les conséquences possibles de cette nouvelle situation, une question qui est devenue d'autant plus évidente depuis qu'un petit nouveau a fait son entrée en scène : l'artiste chinois.

En partant des célèbres boîtes Brillo d'Andy Warhol, cette exposition conduira le spectateur dans une nouvelle ambiance, dans laquelle le statut de l'oeuvre d'art en tant qu'objet devient incertain tout en signalant que nous en sommes peut-être arrivés à une « ère post-objet ». Cette situation actuelle sera abordée de front par une nouvelle œuvre du peintre Rinus Van de Velde, tandis que l'exposition dans son intégralité sera considérablement enrichie par une nouvelle installation de Song Donc et une vidéo de Francis Alÿs.

Remarques des éditeurs

Remettre l'original en question
Dès leur première apparition à New York en 1964, les boîtes Brillo d'Andy Warhol sont devenues des emblèmes d'un nouveau type de monde, dans lequel l'art et la culture populaire n'étaient plus séparés. Le pop art est devenu le langage visuel dominant de cette période et, bien que l'ensemble du mouvement trouve ses racines dans la critique sociale et le scepticisme à l'égard du consumérisme moderne, aucun artiste impliqué n'empêcherait ses œuvres de devenir des objets chéris d'un monde artistique désormais marqué par une 'insoutenable légèreté de l’ « être » par rapport aux périodes précédentes.
Arthur Danto a proclamé ce moment sensationnel comme étant la fin de la domination des élites culturelles, un moment qui a marqué la renaissance de la philosophie hors du « lieu commun » dont la boîte Brillo était l'expression ultime. Tandis que ces idées étaient intégrées aux systèmes éducatifs américains et au-delà, les personnes qui croyaient en la vision de Danto ont fermé les yeux sur les activités d'un nombre de personnes (en Chine, par exemple) qui opéraient dans l'ombre de ce magnifique nouveau monde artistique.
Lorsque le monde a finalement découvert les histoires de contrefaçons et son commerce et lorsque l'organisateur De Wolf a voulu les introduire dans une exposition qu'il préparait à Pékin, il a rapidement réalisé qu'à l'heure actuelle, les Chinois adorent tout simplement l'idée de la copie. Cet été, De Wolf présentera un certain nombre d'objets qui ne sont pas des oeuvres d'art, qui ne sont pas non plus ni des copies, ni des reproductions, ni des interprétations, non plus qu'une édition. Les objets qui doivent être présentés lors de cette exposition permettent au peintre Rinus van der Velde de se réconcilier avec toute cette histoire et de faire qu'une peinture soit juste une peinture. Pas une contrefaçon.
Depuis que toute cette idée est née en Chine, un univers qui doit se réconcilier avec lui-même, avec son histoire récente (dans l'art) et sa propre appréciation unique de la copie en tant que compliment ultime pouvant être fait à l'égard d'un original, Song Dong a été invité à refléter ces idées dans une nouvelle installation. Francis Alÿs complètera l'exposition. Basé à Mexico City, Alÿs a déjà remis en question depuis de nombreuses années l'héritage de « l'original » en tant que format. Sa contribution achèvera l'exposition avec la notion de violence : probablement l'expression la plus ancienne de la copie en tant que forme de narcissisme.

M. Hans De Wolf, 1961 - Vit et travaille à Bruxelles, Belgique
Hans De Wolf est un historien de l'art qui se concentre principalement sur l'art, la philosophie et l'esthétique modernes et contemporains. En 2009, De Wolf a été chargé par le gouvernement de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale de créer un premier projet d'exposition pour Shanghai 2010. Plusieurs autres projets suivraient, tous introduisant certains des artistes belges les plus en vue dans des villes comme Pékin, Hangzhou, Seoul, Gwangju et Chengdu. Au fil des ans, une méthodologie unique a été développée, pouvant être comprise comme l’imbrication de la diplomatie culturelle et académique, où les projets d'exposition deviennent la force motrice d'un échange intensif incluant des universités locales et des écoles d'art. Plus récemment, en octobre 2014, De Wolf a organisé l'exposition ‘Master Mould and Copy Room’ au musée de l'Académie centrale des Beaux-Arts (Central Academy of Fine Arts ou CAFA) de Pékin.

M. Francis Alÿs, 1959 - Vit et travaille à Mexico City, Mexique
Les œuvres de Francis Alÿs sont principalement constituées de performances, de vidéos, de dessins, de peintures et de sculptures, qu'il crée et développe dans différentes villes telles que New York, Londres, Lima et Jerusalem. Alÿs décrit le contexte de ces activités artistiques comme étant « politique » mais au sens grec du mot « polis » : la ville comme un lieu de prise de conscience et de conflit. Avec des actions simples, ironiques et franches, il étudie l'influence de l'art sur la vie dans la ville.

M. Song Dong, 1966 - Vit et travaille à Pékin, Chine
Song Dong a été à la tête du mouvement d'art de l'action avant-gardiste en Chine et il est devenu un important artiste conceptuel dans le développement de l'art contemporain chinois. Les formes artistiques des oeuvres de Song couvrent des domaines tels que les actions, les images et la sculpture, etc. Ses œuvres se situent souvent entre modernité et tradition, entre art et vie. Elles explorent souvent le caractère éphémère des comportements humains et la relation entre la mémoire humaine d'une part et l'histoire, le sentiment, la conscience de soi et le monde extérieur d'autre part.

M. Rinus Van de Velde, 1983 - Vit et travaille à Anvers, Belgique
Le récent travail de l'artiste anversois Rinus Van de Velde est basé sur un processus documentaire obsessionnel, dans le cadre duquel l'artiste travaille avec des archives d'images photographiques utilisées en tant qu'éléments de base d'une série de dessins au charbon. Ces dessins ne contiennent aucune essence donnée, aucune structure de l'image mais ils sont produits en raison de l'effet du dessin lui-même. Van de Velde occupe le matériau afin de raconter une nouvelle histoire.

Pour plus d'informations, contactez
Rhiannon Pickles, Pickles PR


Organisme organisateur :
Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB)
Boulevard de la Plaine 2,
1050 Bruxelles, Belgique
Belgique http://www.vub.ac.be/

En association avec :                                        
Musée d'Art contemporain d'Anvers (M HKA)
Leuvenstraat 32,
2000 Anvers, Belgique
http://www.muhka.be/

Mandaté par :
Ministère de la Communauté flamande Arts et Patrimoine
rue d'Arenberg 9,
1000 Bruxelles, Belgique
http://www.kunstenenerfgoed.be