ORG Permanent Modernity

Monument for an open society

Arsenale
15th International Architecture Exhibition
la Biennale di Venezia
May 28th-November 27th 2016

The Brussels architecture and urban design office ORG Permanent Modernity will contribute this year to the main exhibition of the Architecture Biennale of Venice. Under the title "Reporting from the front", the curator of the Biennale, the Chilean architect Alejandro Aravena, aims at showcasing architecture projects that, by balancing intelligence and intuition, are able to escape the status quo, projects that, despite the scarcity of means, intensify what is available and subvert the forces that privilege the individual gain over the collective benefit. The masterplan for the Abattoirs in Anderlecht and the new mixed-use market recently built by ORG have been selected to be part of these exemplary cases. In an economy of means, the project gives form to new spaces for coexistence and supports multiple appropriations, as a monument for an open society.

The Abattoir 2020 Masterplan develops an urban and architectural strategy for the conversion of an industrial slaughterhouse district into a mixed urban environment. The district is located in the immigrant neighborhood of Kuregem very close to the city center. The district is vibrant but lacks formal public services and economic opportunities. The plan seeks to renew the historical civic importance of the industrial quarter by energizing pre-existing meat market industries, renovating the public plaza, reconnecting hitherto fragmented neighborhoods, and creating space for further productive landscapes.

While guiding and designing the district redevelopment for more than 8 years, ORG engaged the neighborhood to build consensus; created a ‘quality chamber’ to review ongoing work; analyzed and modeled economic implications; and developed a sequence of pilot projects where each investment triggered the opening up of a subsequent site, thus allowing for a domino-effect of implementation.

Urban design matters when it gets built. The first market building was completed in June 2015. The project includes industrial meat production, various rentable market stall options, logistics and parking spaces, and a commercial farm of 4000 m2 on the roof, with adjacent retail including a farm-to-table restaurant. The mixed-use market is built with a consistent architectural language: large precast concrete panels. The panels form over-dimensioned porticoes that are able to be combined in different ways.

The panels are made from a diverse set of simple post and lintel members, which are cast flat in reinforced concrete, and lifted into place to form porticoes. Big cutouts of platonic forms give an identity to the concrete elements. This operation changed the porticoes from a post-beam structure to simple abstract planes, from a functional engineering answer to an poly-interpretable architectural proposal. The over-dimensioned porticoes create dozens of large identical rooms, each connected with every adjacent one, on an open grid or stacked vertically, which can accommodate almost any use. The platonic panels combine to create contemporary urban warehouses – buildings that have a clear urban form, but no predefined content. The combination of these structures creates an environment with a civic presence. Market life is celebrated, monumental, and given generous new spaces.

In Venice, along the main dock of the Arsenale, ORG proposes a physical experience of their architecture: models and sound installations will be hosted under as set of full scale concrete porticoes, temporarily linking Anderlecht with the Venetian lagoon.

ORG Permanent Modernity

Monument pour une société ouverte

Arsenale
15ième Exposition Internationale d'Architecture
la Biennale di Venezia
Du 28 mai au 27 novembre 2016

Le bureau d'architecture et d'urbanisme bruxellois ORG Permanent Modernity participe cette année à l'exposition principale de la Biennale d'Architecture de Venise. Sous le titre "Reporting from the front", le commissaire de cette édition, l’architecte chilien Alejandro Aravena, a pour ambition de présenter des projets d’architecture qui, avec intelligence et intuition, bousculent le statu quo, des propositions qui, malgré le manque de ressources, intensifient ce qui est disponible et subvertissent les forces privilégiant le gain individuel sur le bénéfice collectif. Le projet urbain pour le quartier des Abattoirs d'Anderlecht et pour le nouveau marché alimentaire récemment finalisé par ORG a été sélectionné dans cette optique. Dans une économie de moyens, ce projet a pour objectif de donner forme à de nouveaux espaces de coexistence et de former le support d’appropriations multiples: un monument au pluralisme.

Le masterplan pour les Abattoirs 2020 développe une stratégie urbaine et architecturale pour la conversion de ce quartier industriel en un environnement urbain mixte. Les abattoirs sont situés dans le quartier à forte population immigrée de Kureghem, à deux pas du centre-ville. Ce quartier dynamique manque cruellement de services publics formels et offre peu d'opportunités économiques à ses habitants. Le projet cherche à retrouver la grandeur civique historique du quartier en redynamisant les petites industries existantes liées à la production de viande, en rénovant les espaces publics, en créant de nouveaux liens et des paysages productifs.

Pendant plus de 8 années, ORG a guidé et dessiné le redéveloppement du quartier en engageant les différents acteurs pour développer un consensus. Des groupes de travail ont été créés pour suivre la qualité des travaux en cours. Leurs implications économiques ont été analysées et modélisées. Différents projets pilotes ont été développés. Chaque investissement permettait le développement suivant, créant ainsi à un effet domino d'implémentations.

Un plan urbain fait sens quand il est construit. Le premier bâtiment accueillant un marché mixte a été ouvert en juin 2015. Le projet comprend des espaces industriels de production de viande, des échoppes de vente au détail, des espaces logistiques et de parking, ainsi qu'une ferme urbaine de 4000m² en toiture accompagnée d'espace de vente et d'un restaurant "de la ferme à la table". Le nouveau marché mixte possède un langage architectural cohérent: de larges panneaux en béton préfabriqué. Ces panneaux forment des portiques surdimensionnés combinés de différentes manières.

Les panneaux sont composés d'une série de simples colonnes et linteaux, assemblés pour former des portiques. De grandes découpes de formes simples donnent une identité à ces éléments en béton. Cette opération transforme la structure poteaux-poutres en de grands plans abstraits, la réponse fonctionnelle en une proposition architecturale ouverte aux multiples interprétations. Les portiques surdimensionnés forment de grandes salles identiques, ouvertes les unes sur les autres, disposées sur une grille ouverte ou superposées verticalement, pouvant accueillir tout type d'usage. Les panneaux sont combinés pour former des entrepôts urbains contemporains - des bâtiments possédant une forme urbaine claire mais sans contenu prédéfini. La combinaison de ces structures offre à l'environnement une présence civique. La vie du marché y est célébrée, monumentalisée, dans de nouveaux espaces généreux.

A Venise, le long de la darse principale de l'Arsenale, ORG propose une expérience physique de leur architecture: maquettes et installations sonores seront disposées sous des portiques en béton à taille réelle, connectant temporairement Anderlecht à la cité lacustre.