COMMAND-ALTERNATIVE-ESCAPE

Spazio Thetis Gardens, Castello 2737, 30122 Venice
Vaporetto: Bacini
6 > 13 mei 2017

Peter de Cupere is arguably the most innovative olfactory artist of our time. His previous works have inspired refugees to confront and heal seated traumas; provoked estranged intimacies by inviting the public to enter into contact with the sexual flavors of other strangers; and tempted gallery-goers with poetic sculptural installations that draw them into spaces that reek of industrial fumes. De Cupere lectures at the PXL–MAD School of Arts in Hasselt where he has co-founded an MFA Program at the Art Sense(s) Lab that draws students from across the globe. He has also authored the Manifesto of Olfactory Art, signed with an extract of his signature scent - developed over two years by meticulously distilling his own body smells.

This May in Venice, certain flowers in the Spazio Thetis gardens in Arsenale form part of De Cupere's olfactory poem. Moved by the abusive impact that modern industry and contemporary lifestyles have on nature's purity, the artist has managed to conjure real flowers to regurgitate the fumes of industrial pollution.

This piece like many others by De Cupere is seductive. Precious and delicate flowers emit curls of smoke that resemble the smoking edge of a chimney. When the curious visitor moves closer to inspect what appears incredible - smoking flowers - he realizes the nature of the thickly polluted fumes by which these flowers nearly scream. Smoke Flowers, still a delicate and poetic piece, reeks of urgency.

Christine Macel, the curator of the 57th Art Biennale titled Viva Arte Viva, writes, "The role, the voice and the responsibility of the artist are more crucial than ever before within the framework of contemporary debates. It is in and through these individual initiatives that the world of tomorrow takes shape, which though surely uncertain, is often best intuited by artists than others."

De Cupere's poem that engages every sense - not to mention the imagination - accomplishes just this. Smoke Flowers stirs a profoundly visceral and emotive response to a fairly universal understanding of environmental degeneration. I hesitate to call the piece surreal for De Cupere, by placing two very normal though seemingly disparate phenomena abreast, only brings us nearer to the truth.

Natasha Pradhan

www.peterdecupere.net

COMMAND-ALTERNATIVE-ESCAPE

Spazio Thetis Gardens, Castello 2737, 30122 Venice
Vaporetto: Bacini
6 > 13 mei 2017

Peter de Cupere est certainement le plus innovateur artiste olfactif de notre époque. Ses œuvres précédents ont suscités les réfugiés à faire face aux traumatismes enfouies tout en ressentant des parfums qui font revenir de mauvais souvenirs; A provoqué des intimités éloignées en exposant le public à des saveurs sexuelles d'autres étrangers; Et a tenté les spectateurs de galeries avec des installations sculpturales poétiques qui les amènent dans des atmosphères remplies des dégagements olfactifs de la pollution. De Cupere donne des conférences à l'école des arts PXL-MAD à Hasselt où il a cofondé un programme de diplôme de master au laboratoire Art Sense(s) qui attire des étudiants du monde entier.

Ce mai à Venise, certaines fleurs dans les jardins Spazio Thetis d'Arsenale font partie du poème olfactif de De Cupere. Touché par l'impact abusif que l'industrie moderne et les formes de vie contemporaines ont sur la pureté de la nature - un lieu de réconfort et de répit pour De Cupere comme beaucoup d'autres - l'artiste a réussi à invoquer de vraies fleurs pour régurgiter les fumées de la pollution industrielle.

Similairement à d’autres travaux de De Cupere cet œuvre est attrayant. Des fleurs précieuses et délicates émettent des bouffées de fumée qui ressemblent au côté brûlant d'une cigarette. Lorsque le spectateur courageux et curieux se rapproche pour observer de ce qui ressemble à des fleurs surréalistes - il entre en contact avec les fumées épaisses que ces fleurs dégagent. Ce qui est une pièce délicate et profondément poétique aussi pue l'urgence. 

Christine Macel, curatrice de la 57ème Biennale d'art intitulée Viva Arte Viva, écrit: «Le rôle, la voix et la responsabilité de l'artiste sont plus cruciales que jamais dans le cadre des débats contemporains. C'est grace à  ces initiatives individuelles et dans leur noyau que le monde de demain prend forme, qui, bien que sûrement incertain, est souvent mieux senti par des artistes que d'autres. »

Le poème de De Cupere qui fait bouger tous les sens et chatouille la curiosité du spectateur accomplit tout cela. Fleurs de Fumée soulève une réponse beaucoup plus viscérale et émotive à ce qui est maintenant une compréhension presque universelle de la dégradation environnementale que les statistiques habituels. J'hésite à nommer  la pièce de De Cupere surréaliste, par le biais de sa licence poétique, ne fait qu’éclaircir une facette de la réalité qui est rarement observée de façon contiguë.

Natasha Pradh

www.peterdecupere.net